Overview Technical Papers Tutorials Panels Posters  
  Masterworks Invited Speakers GRID 2004 Workshops
  SC Global HPC Software Challenge MSI Outreach

SC2004 Awardees

Sidney Fernbach Memroial Award:
Dr. Marsha Berger, NYU/Courant Institute

Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award:
Dr. William J. Dally, Stanford University

Best Technical Paper:
Assessing Fault Sensitivity in MPI Applications
Charng-Da Lu (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign) and Daniel Reed (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Best Student Technical Paper:
Analysis and Performance Results of a Molecular Modeling Applications on Merrimac
Mattan Erez, Jung Ho Ahn, Ankit Garg, William J. Dally, Eric Darve (Stanford University)

Best Research Poster:
The Next Generation of the Java CoG Kit
Gregor von Laszewski, Argonne National Laboratory
Kaizar Amin, North Texas University
Matt Bone, Loyola University
Mike Hategan, University of Chicago
Pankaj Sahasrabudhe, University of Louisville
Mike Sosonkin, Polytechnic University, New York
Robert Winch, Loyola University
Nithya Vijayakumar, Indiana University
David Angulo, DePaul University

Gordon Bell Awards:
Peak Performance “A 15.2 TFlops Simulation of Geodynamo on the Earth Simulator,”
Akira Kageyama, Masanori Kameyama, Saturo Fujihara, Masaki Yoshida, Mamoru Hyodo, and Yoshinori Tsuda (Earth Simulator Center, JAMSTEC)

Special Category: “Ultrascalable Implicit Finite Element Analyses in Solid Mechanics with Over a Half a Billion Degrees of Freedom,”
Mark F. Adams (Sandia National Laboratories), Harun H. Bayraktar (Abuqus Corporation), Tony M. Keaveny (U.C. Berkeley), Panayiotis Papadopoulos (U.C.Berkeley)

HPC Software Challenge:
The Trilinos Package Architecture and Infrastructure, presented by Michael Heroux, Sandia National Laboratories

Improving Parallel Finite Element Method-Based Applications Through Software Engineering, presented by Dale Shares, US Army Research Lab

Bandwidth Challenge Awards:
Entry name: A Framework of Cyberinfrastructure
Origanization: San Diego Supercomputer Center
Award: Best Spirit of the Challenge
Description: Comprehensive Use of TeraGrid, SCinet, Storcloud, and Onsite Computer Resources achieving 27 Gb/s sustained disk-to-disk real application performance

Entry name: All Roads Lead Through Chicago to Pittsburgh Performance Award
Organization: California Institute of Technology, Stanford Linear Accelerator Lab and Fermi National Lab
Award: Over 100 Gb/s per second aggregate memory to memory bandwidth utilizing the greatest number of networks

Entry Name: Third Generation Data Reservoir
Organization: University of Tokyo
Award: Single Stream, Longest Path, Standard MTU TCP Throughput
Description: 7.2 Gb/s around the world

Entry name: National Center For Data Mining SC04 Bandwidth Challenge
Organization: National Center For Data Mining, UIC
Award: Best Replacement for FedEx UDP Fairness Award
Description: 800 Mb/s transferring astronomy data disk to disk

Entry name: Showinig Bandwidth of CJK (China, Japan, Korea)
Organization: Kyushu University and KISDI
Award: Honorable Mention, Breaking Not Only Technical But Cultural Boundaries

Entry Name: Effective Rapid Remote File System For Supercomputer Users Who Are Not Network Expert
Organization: JAXA
Award: Honorable Mention, Distributed Infrastructure Award

Problems with this page? Please contact our webmaster.